Monday, June 29, 2009

Oh Boy!

Well it has been a little while since I posted again, but my how things they are a changing!

I was laid off from the job I've had for the last 3 years. I loved that job, it was my dream job and I already miss it terribly. I was laid off last Wednesday along with 2 co-workers. I was so upset, I felt like I wasn't good enough. I have worked since I was in high school (which is a loooong time!) the most amount of time I have had off is 6 weeks maternity leave with each of the boys.

After talking with my aunt and 2 of my friends I've decided to look at it as a blessing. I am getting paid to spend the summer with my boys. Who could ask for anything else. The scary part is that with what I do there are NO job openings in our area. I think I might have to go to school to learn something else. I just don't know what I want to be when I grow up. When I first started working I went into graphic design because that is what my mom did and she got me my first job. I went to college while working and got my degree for daycare, after 25 or so years of doing graphic design, I'm not sure I want to do daycare anymore, I'm not sure I want to do design. So now what? I'm in my 40's, is it too late to change directions? I hope not.

Also, another scary thing, I am home with 2 rowdy boys all day every day. Looks like fun is on the horizon! I never got a chance to be a SAHM. Hopefully I don't screw them up too bad!

Wish me luck! Oh and any suggestions for keeping a 10 year old and 2 year old busy, let me know!

Monday, June 8, 2009

So obviously I'm not very good at this blog thing!

Holy cow, it has been 2 months since my last post! So I guess it is time for an update.
Alex passed 4th grade! Can I get a big Woot Woot! for that. We were so worried. At the end of the 3rd quarter we had turned in a bunch of missing homework assignments, but by the time we did, his regular teacher was on sick leave for surgery. The sub didn't realize what danger Alex was in and didn't grade the papers before the end of the nine weeks. So, we had lots of zero's, that report card had 4, yes count them 4 F's. You can pass with 2. That gave us the last quarter to get everything straightened out, boy did WE have to work our you know what's off. Alex finally got the picture and realized what not passing 4th grade meant and started working really hard for the last month. We were hoping it wasn't too late.
So come the last day of school, we chewed our fingernails waiting for Alex to come home with his report card to let us know if he had made it or not. You would think with as much trouble as we were having there would have been more communication from the school and we wouldn't have been waiting to the very end to find out. But alas, this was not the case, not for lack of trying on my part! Anyway, Alex came running in and said, "I passed, I passed!" Sure enough he did, only 1 F left. It wasn't great but I was pleased that he at least made it to 5th grade.
Now our summer will include homework to keep him current so we don't have to worry about being behind once 5th grade starts. We decided to at least give him a couple of weeks of no "homework" but starting Monday morning we are going to give him lessons, fun things, to do each week. We are going to give them to him on Monday morning and he has to "turn them in" to us by Friday night.
Now, for stories of Hunter, Oh My Goodness, can you ever tell he is learning things from big brother! That 8 year age gap is killer! We have a two-year old that calls things stupid and when we tell him we don't say that, he tell us to "Shut-up" with pouty lip and crossed arms! Many time-outs and swats (yep, I swat a diapered booty!) later, I think that issue might be resolved. **keeping fingers crossed** The other scary thing for me, is that like his big brother, the boy has no fear. He is doing things a two-year old shouldn't even think about. He is going to be a tough little booger!
I was a little jealous for a little while because "my" baby had turned into a daddy's boy big time. The only thing I was good for was cuddles after boo-boos. I was crushed, but it looks like the tide is turning and mommy is the shadizzle again! I am so happy!
Well I think this is a good point to stop! This is getting a little long! I promise to try and be better, I'll let you know about how the homework goes!